(JNS) Israel, the United States and Brazil were the only three countries to vote against a U.N. General Assembly resolution on Nov. 7 to condemn the U.S. embargo of Cuba for the 28th year.

The measure passed 187-3, with Ukraine and Colombia abstaining.

Last year, the tally was 189-2 with only Israel and the United States voting in opposition, with no abstentions.

UNGA resolutions are not legally binding nor enforceable.

The U.S. embargo on Cuba was enacted in 1960 after the revolution led by Fidel Castro. Two years later, it was extended to include virtually all exports.

“Allies are those who stand shoulder-to-shoulder in support of one another. We are proud to be one of the few countries standing with the U.S. against a resolution that calls for an end to its embargo against Cuba. We will always stand with #America in fighting for a better world,” tweeted Israeli Ambassador to the United Nations Danny Danon.

“Thank you! I value the friendship shared by the United States and #Israel and appreciate your support,” tweeted U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Kelly Craft in response to Danon.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.